The Shandy’s Relative Across the Pond; The Edinburgh Shandy

The national soft drink of Scotland is unquestionably, the orange colored, hard-hitting and sweet stuff called, Iron Bru. The national beer of scotland is a peppy flavored lager called Tennents; it is similar in taste to an american beer some may know called yeungling.

A Traditional Shandy:

  • 1/2 Pint of Beer
  • 1/2 pint of Ginger Ale

There I was one fine summers day, sitting at The Swamp Bar in the Caledonian Backpackers Hostel in Edinburgh, right off Princess st. at Queensferry st.

The Swamp Bar at the Caledonian Backpackers Hostel, Edinburgh

The Swamp Bar at the Caledonian Backpackers Hostel, Edinburgh

I was thirsty but wishing to try something different. I got such a strange notion as I sat, sipping my first tastes of an Iron Bru Soda. I leaned over the wooden bar and looked down at a can of scotch lager in the mini-fridge, a Tennents to be exacted. I thought, “Why the  heck not?” I called for a pint and a glass and proceeded to craft according to the recipe I have mentioned above.

  • 1/4 Iron Bru (Brew) Soda
  • 3/4 Tennents Scotch Lager

I tried the initial drink and it was good! But it seemed to miss something! I asked for:

  • A few ice cubes

This addition smoothed the drink. But what else could a summer-oriented drink need? I called the bartender over to sample my concoction and as he put the drink to his lips, reflecting for a moment, his face lit up with an idea. He moved his hand to a cache of sliced fruits and garnishes and he then produced:

  • A slice of lemon

He squeezed and placed the slice inside the newly founded drink. I sampled then he sampled and our faces mirrored each others.
Aha! There we have it!-A delicious, peachy, sweet, zippy summer time drink, Edinburgh style!
If you ever find yourself in Edinburgh, perhaps down on Queensferry st. at the hostel, ask the bartender for an Iron Bru or A Tennents lager or perhaps ask him for both as in an Edinburgh Shandy! Enjoy Folks!

About A Foreign Sojourn

I am a Joe of many trades including professional cook, avid reader and ambitious adventurer-check out my latest photos and peruse my blogs for a sampling in regards to the worlds of eating and worldly adventures!
This entry was posted in Scotland, Wine, Beer and Spirits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Shandy’s Relative Across the Pond; The Edinburgh Shandy

  1. When I tried Irn Bru, I was not the biggest fan. I felt like it was too sweet. But this actually sounds like it could be a good combination! If I’m ever back there, I will definitely give it a shot! 🙂

Let me know what you think!

