The Sovereignty of The Green

 She is beautiful,

And she’s is sad,

I said,

And I turned to look away,Sovereignty, Draft, April 2014

Across a great distance,

That was The Sea,

What is it of Emerald eyes,

That stare across rolling hills,

And wild callagh

Or blue eyes that gaze,

Steadily into a cerulean,

Summer;

Soft clouds to rest my head upon.

The deepness of solitude,

The quietude of melancholy,

That steals over the heart

When I am not in your presence.Sovereignty, Draft, 2 April 2014

Dear Lady I have loved,

Do not scorn me for our separation,

For it was forced by the guile of another;

A circumstance that was not mine to control.

Now,

The Sea appears calmer,

The distance not as great as it once was,

And your beauty,

Charming all the more.

Allow me to love you,

For I have known you,

For so very long,

Bring me to your hearth,

Sovereignty, Draft, 3 April 2014Warm me by your fire,

And tell me your sorrow,

And of your brothers and sisters dear,

I wish them to be mine,

And be it so,

When one trespasses against you,

They too trespass against me.

And when I’m tired and must rest my shield,

Play the harp and refresh my tongue,

With the waters of your ever lasting honour,

And lay me down content in the heather,

Sovereignty, Draft, 4 April 2014


A Jilted Lover Promotional

 

About A Foreign Sojourn

I am a Joe of many trades including professional cook, avid reader and ambitious adventurer-check out my latest photos and peruse my blogs for a sampling in regards to the worlds of eating and worldly adventures!
This entry was posted in Ireland, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

