Foolish, Pt. 3

If fate were not causal and a man could master his heart, empires may not have fallen into the sea or suffered at the hands of barbarous demons. That I know is true. This is the road I paved (from Israel to Greece to Germany across the States of the America and ultimately chased to Australia.) Well, it was my allotment and could only have been parceled to a man such as I- to feel deeply and to be man in love who runs with his eyes closed,
…by such and such is happiness thrown away.
Would I ever take it back and pull up these roots and roads and travel through mist into the past? Would I tell myself that to woo these women will wound you grievously and you will be slighted forever; to wear a crown of terrible thorns on your head. And even still, that at every turn of my head would tear at my temples and thick blood would run warmly down my face and make my eyes sting with salt.
No. I would not.Foolish Love
Those roads can never be taken back, undone or changed, though unfortunately can be traversed by the mind. Would I ever go back to Athens and fall in love with a deity of feminine power that was bent on crushing me to inspiration and twisting my crown of copper- alas, no. I was beguiled to follow like some tragedy spun by a muse. The sweetness of flowers on the breeze and to step on a blue-veined marble terrace with you was something that a man grows empowered from. But dare, I touch your hand, or confess?

It didn’t matter whether I knew to play the game or not, there were others to show me. You told me that you weren’t familiar with it either. How little I knew. It takes heartbreak to know heartbreak…

About A Foreign Sojourn

I am a Joe of many trades including professional cook, avid reader and ambitious adventurer-check out my latest photos and peruse my blogs for a sampling in regards to the worlds of eating and worldly adventures!
This entry was posted in Adventures on the Road, Literature, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Let me know what you think!

